TYPO3 Upgrade to LTS Version 6.2

TYPO3 Upgrade

Improvements and the advantages and disadvantages of the new TYPO3 version at a glance. Is an upgrade worth it?

Long Term Support (LTS) version 6.2 replaced the previously used 4.5 LTS version this spring. More than 2,000 bugs were removed for the new TYPO3 CMS upgrade, and the latest technologies such as PHP 5.4, MySQL 5.5, HTML 5 and CSS3 are now supported. In addition, the intuitive interface with drag and drop functionality increases usability. Many companies are now faced with the question whether the adaptation of their website is really necessary and how much effort would be involved.

Of particular significance in the upgrade is the replacement of the Digital Asset Management (DAM) through the File Abstraction Layer (FAL). This change requires the adaption of all extensions and can, therefore, be quite time-consuming and complicated. Company-specific or custom-developed extensions require additional costs when upgrading and may even need to be completely rewritten.

Relaunch or upgrade?

At this point, it is worthwhile to decide for either an upgrade or a possible relaunch. TYPO3 Neos, for example, is suitable for the simple display of content and is rather editor-friendly. With TYPO3 CMS, on the other hand, accomidating large amounts data is the priority. For complex relationships, this variant is better.

The fact is, with a clean upgrade one invests in a future-proof technology and secures updates to 2017. In addition, the running costs for the website in the coming years will remain limited. Costs for troubleshooting can be saved and put into further development of the website. Without an upgrade to 6.2, the system is error-prone and vulnerabilities arise. Attacks by third parties are, therefore, more difficult to defend against.

For a conversion without complications, it is worth seeking professional assistance.

Need to update? Please contact us.
2017-11-03T11:50:13+00:00

TYPO3 CMS Upgrade auf 6.2 LTS Version

TYPO3 Upgrade

Neuerungen und Vor- und Nachteile der neuen TYPO3 Version im Überblick. Lohnt sich ein Upgrade?

Dieses Frühjahr löst die 6.2 Long Term Version (LTS) die bisher angewandte 4.5 LTS-Version ab. Über 2000 Bugs wurden für das neue TYPO3 CMS Upgrade entfernt und aktuelle Technologien wie PHP 5.4, MySQL 5.5, HTML 5 und CSS3 werden nun unterstützt. Außerdem erleichtert die intuitivere Nutzeroberfläche mit Drag and Drop Funktionen die Handhabung. Viele Unternehmen stehen nun vor der Frage, ob die Anpassung der eigenen Website wirklich notwendig ist und wie hoch der Aufwand ausfällt.

Besonderer Knackpunkt des Upgrades ist der Ersatz des Digital Asset Management (DAM) durch den File Abstraction Layer (FAL). Diese Änderung erfordert die Anpassung aller Extensions und kann durchaus zeitaufwendig und kompliziert sein. Besonders firmenspezifische oder selbst entwickelte Erweiterungen bedeuten einen Mehraufwand beim Upgrade und müssen eventuell komplett neu geschrieben werden.

Relaunch oder Upgrade

An dieser Stelle lohnt sich die Entscheidung zwischen dem Upgrade und einem möglichen Relaunch. TYPO3 Neos beispielsweise eignet sich für die einfache Darstellung von Inhalten und ist recht redakteursfreundlich. Bei TYPO3 CMS dagegen stehen Daten im Vordergrund und davon meist große Mengen. Für komplexe Zusammenhänge eignet sich diese Variante besser.

Fakt ist, mit einem sauberen Upgrade investiert man in eine zukunftssichere Technologie und sichert sich Updates bis 2017. Außerdem werden die laufenden Kosten für die Website in den kommenden Jahren überschaubar bleiben. Kosten für Fehlerbehebung können eingespart und in die Weiterentwicklung der Seite gesteckt werden. Ohne ein Upgrade auf 6.2 wird das System fehleranfällig und es entstehen Sicherheitslücken. Angriffe durch Dritte werden damit schwerer abzuwehren.

Für eine komplikationsfreie Umstellung lohnt sich die Inanspruchnahme professioneller Hilfe, da die Durchführung des Upgrades diesmal recht aufwendig und komplex ist.

Sie planen ein Update? Kontaktieren Sie uns.
2017-11-03T11:50:13+00:00